Maya Binyam and Peace Adzo Medie Longlisted for the 2024 Women’s Prize for Fiction

Maya Binyam and Peace Adzo Medie Longlisted for the 2024 Women’s Prize for Fiction

The longlist for the 2024 Women’s Prize for Fiction has been unveiled, and it features two talented African authors. Let’s dive into the details:

1. Maya Binyam

  • Background: Maya Binyam is an Ethiopian-American author.
  • Novel: She has been recognized for her debut novel, Hangman.
  • Accolades: Her work has appeared in prestigious publications such as the Paris Review, The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, and Bookforum.
  • Role: Binyam also serves as an advisory editor at the Paris Review.

2. Peace Adzo Medie

  • Background: Peace Adzo Medie hails from Liberia and Ghana.
  • Works: She has made waves with both fiction and nonfiction.
    • Debut Novel: In 2020, Medie published her debut novel, His Only Wife.
    • Scholarly Work: She has also contributed to scholarly discussions with her work on Global Norms and Location Action: The Campaigns to End Violence Against Women in Africa.

About the Women’s Prize for Fiction

  • Purpose: Established in 1996, the Women’s Prize for Fiction aims to address the disparity in recognition and coverage between male and female writers.
  • Criteria: The prize is awarded annually to the author of the best full-length novel written in English and published in the UK.
  • Reward: The winner receives £30,000 and a bronze statuette.
  • 29th Year: This year marks the 29th edition of the prize.
  • Judging Panel: The 2024 judging panel includes notable figures such as Monica Ali, Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀, Laura Dockrill, Indira Varma, and Anna Whitehouse.

The longlist celebrates the power of individual voices, and it’s heartening to see debut authors like Binyam and Medie making their mark. Congratulations to both authors, and may their stories continue to inspire readers worldwide!

Scroll to Top