The 2024 Island Prize Longlist is Out!

The 2024 Island Prize Longlist is Out!

The 2024 Island Prize has unveiled its longlist, featuring 10 exceptional manuscripts from diverse authors across the African continent. Among the selected entries, there are two from Nigeria, two from Zimbabwe, and one each from Angola, Ghana, Gambia, Zambia, South Africa, and Egypt.

Established in tribute to South African author Karen Jennings’ Booker-longlisted work, “An Island,” the Island Prize is overseen by Jennings in collaboration with her publishers, Holland House Books (UK) and Karavan Press (South Africa). The recognized authors stand a chance to win cash prizes of £500, £300, and £200 for the first, second, and third places respectively. Furthermore, the top three manuscripts will be considered for publication, with the authors being introduced to literary agents.

The judging panel for this year includes Karen Jennings, Sudanese writer Reem Gaafar, and Sana Goyal, the editor and publishing director of Wasafiri Magazine. The judges expressed their gratitude for the overwhelming number of submissions received this year and noted that the longlist, comprising ten entries, showcases the diverse and talented storytelling from across the continent.

Take a look at the longlisted works:

  1. “In Vain” by Joao Canoquena (Angola)
  2. “Lyrics to the Colour Red” by Ruby Excel (Ghana)
  3. “Landlord of the Evil Forest” by Chidinma Iwuoha (Nigeria)
  4. “Before the Rapine” by Kebba S. Juwara (Gambia)
  5. “When The Shadows Call” by Mali Kambandu (Zambia)
  6. “Freelance” by Simbarashe Steyn Kundizeza (Zimbabwe)
  7. “The Village Bus” by Phelelani Makhanya (South Africa)
  8. “Outside Where the Rain Falls” by Wayne Samuel (Nigeria)
  9. “Marionette” by Reda Soliman (Egypt)
  10. “What it Means to Outlive a Daughter” by Chioniso Tsikisayi (Zimbabwe)

The shortlist will be disclosed in early May, with the winner to be announced shortly thereafter. Congratulations to all the longlisted writers!

Scroll to Top