Submit Children’s Books to the 0,000 Nigeria Prize for Literature 2024 | Deadline: April 2

Submit Children’s Books to the $100,000 Nigeria Prize for Literature 2024 | Deadline: April 2

The Nigeria Prize For Literature is now accepting submissions for its 2024 edition. This year’s call is for children’s books and one lucky winner will win the $100,000 award.

Founded in 2004, the prize is endowed by Nigeria LNG Limited and one of the world’s richest literary honors in the world for a single published work. The goal is to improve the quality of writing, editing, proof-reading, and publishing in the country with far-reaching positive effect on print, broadcast journalism, film and theatre production.

It is awarded rotationally every year across four genres: poetry, prose fiction, drama and children’s literature. This year’s call is children’s books. In 2019, the focus was children’s literature as well and the winner was Boom Boom by Jude Idada. Last year, Obari Gomba won the prize in the drama category.

The judges for the 2024 prizes are Prof. Saleh Abdu (Chairman), Prof. Vicky Sylvester, and Dr. Igudia Osarobu. The advisory board includes previous winner Prof Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (Chair); Prof. Olu Bafemi, and Prof. Ahmed Yerima.

Submission Guidelines:

  • The competition is open to published works by Nigerians irrespective of their place of residence.
  • All applicants must complete and submit their entries online. Completed forms must be printed and submitted along with the entries.
  • Twelve (12) copies of entry and e-copies with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or National Identity Card) may be submitted either by author or publisher. Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG Limited’s External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by stipulated deadline.
  • No books published before 2021 will be accepted.
  • An author will enter only one published work. Unpublished work will not be considered. No book previously submitted for this competition may be resubmitted at a latter date, even if major revisions have been made or a new edition published. The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.
  • No member of the Advisory board or Panel of Judges can enter their work(s) for the award in the period in which they are serving and two years thereafter. No entries will be entertained from members of the LNG staff and their families.
  • No entry submitted after the stipulated deadline will be accepted.
  • Failure to meet all stated conditions above will lead to disqualification of the entry.

Entries should be sent to:

The Nigeria Prize for Literature,
External Relations Division,
Nigeria LNG Limited Corporate Head Office,
NLNG Road, Eastern By-Pass,
Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria

Go here for more details.

Submit application form here.

Deadline: April 2, 2024

They are also accepting submissions of literary criticism. The criticism award, valued at N1 Million is annually conferred to the best critical essay by a Nigerian writer/critic. Last year’s winner was ​Eyoh Asuquo Etim​.

The winner will be announced in October 2024. Good luck to all applicants!


Scroll to Top